I won the Liebster Award! And 11 other wacky things.

Wow, this is such a shock. I’m so overwhelmed but, first…

I’d like to thank the Academy-

Ok, cut. Start over. Just what exactly is the Liebster award anyway? Is it the award for having the blog with the fewest readers? Because, if it’s that, I win!

No? It’s the award that bloggers give to one another so we can answer goofy questions about ourselves and try to be entertaining or meaningful (or not, in my case)? Awesome. I am so IN.

So here’s how it works:

  1. I post 11 random facts about myself.
  2. I answer the 11 questions my nominator selected for me
  3. I nominate 11 other bloggers to do the same
  4. I tell them which 11 questions I want them to answer
  5. You, as a non-participant, ask yourself, “Why am I reading this?”

Random facts about Ms. Wynter:

  1. I saw the Easter Bunny when I was nine. It was glowing ball of white mist in the neighbor’s yard that was shaped just like a giant rabbit, sitting on its hind legs. My mom even saw it too, after I frantically screamed for her to come to my room. People think I’m crazy, but I don’t care. It was the Easter Bunny and I got to see him. So there.
  2. One of my favorite sandwiches in the whole world is peanut butter, mayonnaise and cucumber (with salt and pepper) on wheat bread (with a side of potato chips). Yeah, I know. But some people eat crickets and swear they’re awesome, so go figure.
  3. I’m a fifth-generation Detroiter and my great-grandmother, Mary, was one of the first ladies to drive a car here. People thought she was nuts. It runs in the family.
  4. I defeated a bully when I was twelve at the park across the street from my house with both sixth grade classes watching (and screaming). She had been harassing me for months and I finally challenged her and won – it redefined who I thought I was.
  5. I learned to recite Henry Wadsworth Longfellow’s, “The Psalm of Life” when I was seven and I’ve been reciting it ever since (especially when I’m feeling low). Like fine wine, my appreciation for it has evolved and improved with the years.
  6. My favorite animals are: cats, pugs, llamas, pangolins, sloths, pygmy marmosets and sea otters. So far, all I’ve got is a cat and a pug (he doesn’t count as a dog) so it’s clear I’ve got to get started on that zoo I’ve been meaning to build…
  7. I love bees of all kinds and I even wrote a middle-grade fantasy about them (coming soon)
  8. One of my favorite cocktails is an Eighteen-Wheeler – that’s half Jägermeister, half Bailey’s served over ice – a fiery, creamy concoction that goes particularly well with a side of Guinness, buttered popcorn and a Disney movie.
  9. If I wasn’t going to spend the rest of my life writing, I’d open a pizza and bagel shop. In the morning, you’d stop by for your bagel and coffee and, in the evening on the way home, you’d pick up a pizza. Carbs forever!
  10. My heritage is mixed western European but, I swear to you, my taste buds are Mediterranean – because that’s most of the food I crave (plus bagels and popcorn and Eighteen-Wheelers and Guinness).
  11. I’m a distant descendent of Mary, Queen of Scots. (Kidding! I couldn’t resist.)

Eleven questions from my nominator, Ms. Megan Cutler:

  1. What is one thing you have done that you never thought you’d do? Get to live a creative life and write the stories I want.
  2. What is your favorite book or series of books? Impossible question! Ok, fine. Let’s see… Probably Lord of the Rings, if we’re talking series, and Lonesome Dove for a single title.
  3. If money were no object and you could live anywhere, where would you choose? Miami in the winter and Martha’s Vineyard in the summer. I’m like an East-coaster who actually grew up in the Midwest.
  4. If you could meet any person, living or dead, who would it be and why? Julia Child. I want to eat and drink (too much) with her in Paris and laugh at the folly of life.
  5. How do you find motivation on your off days? I remind myself that if I only wrote on my so-called “motivated days” that would be twice a year. Books get written on the days you don’t want to write.
  6. What is your favorite type of music and/or band/performer? The Pixies.
  7. If a genie were to grant you one wish, what would you wish for? To write a New York Times bestseller.
  8. What is your favorite way to spend your free time? Watching Disney and eating popcorn, with the occasional Eighteen-Wheeler.
  9. Who is your favorite fictional character and why? Gus McCray of Lonesome Dove – one of the most heroic, funny and relatable heroes that ever lived. Wish I could hug and kiss him.
  10. What is one thing are you most proud of? Writing my first book. It’s unpublished but that doesn’t matter. It proved I can do almost anything.
  11. What is your favorite piece of advice either that you have received or that you wish to pass on? I don’t believe writers are born, I believe they’re willed. Plus, while our talents and results may vary, the average guy or gal on the street has the same immutable right to tell his/her story as Stephen King or J.K. Rowling. Owning that right is the first step to allowing yourself to pursue the writing path you desire.

Now, the hammer falls!… Er, or rather, I nominate eleven other bloggers

Here are your questions, bloggers! Pretty much the same as I was asked above. Follow the steps I listed above (except, hopefully, #5) and you’re on your way. No deadline and no pressure on participating.

  1. What is one thing you have done that you never thought you’d do?
  2. What is your favorite book or series of books?
  3. If money were no object and you could live anywhere, where would you choose?
  4. If you could meet any person, living or dead, who would it be and why?
  5. How do you find motivation on your off days?
  6. What is your favorite movie or TV series?
  7. If a genie were to grant you one wish, what would you wish for?
  8. What is your favorite way to spend your free time?
  9. Who is your favorite fictional character and why?
  10. What is one thing are you most proud of?
  11. What is your favorite piece of advice either that you have received or that you wish to pass on?
Leave a Reply

